Recommendations: If You Like This... Then Read This...

Saturday, October 31, 2015




Hello everyone! This week's recommendations are two first books of series'. that are very near and dear to my heart: Fallen by Lauren Kate and Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. Ah, yes. These books are the epitome of young adult fantasy. If you haven't at least heard of one of these books, you must've been living under a rock, my friend. Both have been out for quite a while, having been published in 2009. I've had them both for forever now, and have finished both series'. These two books were two of the first young adult fantasy books I read.  These books were the ones that got me into this genre. Because of these books and a few others, Young Adult fantasy became my default genre. 

The reason I'm recommending these books is because unlike last week's recommendations (City of Burning Shadows and A Quest of Heroes), which were very different, these books are very similar.  They have to do with fallen angels, both are pretty dark stories (as well as the covers, but awesome), both have- at some point- have to do with memory loss, someone's thirst for power, both are a series of four books, etc. The list goes on and on.

Fallen by Lauren Kate is about a girl named Lucinda Price who was ordered by the court to attend a reform school for allegedly murdering her acquaintance Trevor. There she meets Daniel Grigori who she immediately falls for. He doesn't seem to fell the same though, because right when he lays eyes on her, he flips her off. And if that isn't enough to convince anyone to keep their distance,  anytime they see each other after that he brushes her off. She doesn't seem to understand that he wants nothing to do with her, but she pushes on anyways. She tries to talk to him more, always wants him to look at her, but the weird thing is,  is that he does. Sometimes she catches him giving her some regretful or nostalgic look, but it doesn't make sense because 1) How can he be regretful or nostalgic when they've never met before? 2) Doesn't he hate her?. She feels this inexplicable and uncontrollable urge to be with him, so throughout the book with the help of her new friend Penny,  she tries to find out what the jerk's problem is. There's more to the story than that of course, but that's the overview.

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick revolves around Nora Grey who is sixteen and can apparently drive on her own (where are the probation?) Anyway, she's paired with seemingly quite and mysterious transfer Patch Cipriano in biology class. Turns out though, he isn't just quite and mysterious, he's also Mr. Know-it-all (not in an annoyingly smart way, in a what-a-creepy-stalker-would-know kind of way) and frustrating. In this story, Nora tries to decide whether she likes or hates Patch. The more she tries not to think of him, the worse her condition gets. Again, there's a lot more to this too, but this is a summation.

Highly recommend.

No comments:

Post a Comment